Shake Shack: Halal or Haram? Decoding the Menu’s Islamic Status

Syed Bukhari

Updated on:


Is Shake Shack HALAL or HARAM? – Halal food is a requirement for Muslims, no matter where they live or what they crave. If you enjoy a tasty burger, whether it’s made of chicken, beef or hot dogs, you might wonder if you can find a halal option at Shake Shack, the famous fast-food chain that has branches across the globe.

This article will explore the halal status of Shake Shack and its products, and whether they are suitable for Muslim customers or not.

What exactly is Shake Shack?

Shake Shake started with single hot dog cart in Madison Square Park in New York City in 2001, has now become a renowned fast-food chain. Shake Shack, the famous fast-food chain, has extended its business to various countries, including UK, South Korea, Hong Kong and Mexico City.

Shake Shack offers a range of mouth-watering products, such as chicken bites, chicken sandwiches, smash beef patties, crinkle-cut fries, cheese fries, and shroom burger for vegans.

Shake Shack has attracted a loyal fan base to its fast food outlets, appealing to both both locals and tourists seeking a taste of its signature dishes. But as its popularity has grown, particularly with customers following Islamic dietary laws, so has the demand for clarity regarding its halal status.

What exactly is Shake Shack

Is Shake Shack halal? 

Is Shake Shack serves halal or haram food , the answer depends on where the shack is located.  This is similar to other fast-food chains like McDonalds, which can have different halal standards in different countries.

Shake Shack does not follow a uniform halal policy for all its branches, Shake Shack’s approach varies based on the region and location. This causes some confusion and debate among customers who want to eat according to their religious values

Is Shake Shack halal in the US?

Shake Shack has updated on its website that they did not serve Halal food in USA

“In our U.S. locations, we do not use halal meat in our menu items.”

Beed is not Halal in USA - Shake Shack

Is Shake Shack halal in the UK?

In the UK, Shake Shack branches does serve halal food however this only includes chicken products. That means that chicken burgers ,chicken bites, and chicken breast are halal and they get their chicken from halal-certified suppliers.

However, beef and turkey products are not confirmed Halal. 

From a certification point of view, again the chicken products have received halal certification and are safe for Muslims to eat. As there are non-halal menu items, Shake Shack UK does not have halal-certified restaurants.

Is Shake Shack halal in the Middle East?

Shake Shack branches operating in the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Qatar, and Kuwait show its popularity in the Middle East.

To cater to the customers in this region and in Turkey, Shake Shack has made sure that its branches obtain the halal certification . It offers halal choices for both beef and chicken on its menu, and has obtained halal certification for all its branches

Shake Shack follows the regional norm of not serving any pork products on its menu in the Middle East.

Shake Shack Beef is Middle East and Turkey is Halal

Is Shake Shack halal in Japan, South Korea ,Singapore and Russia?

The Beef in the U.S ,U.K , South Korea Singapore and Russia is not Halal.



Q. Can Muslims eat Shake Shack?

A. The halal status of Shake Shack branches varies depending on the region and location.

  • Branches in the UK serve halal chicken
  • Shacks in the US don’t serve halal meat at all.
  • Shake Shack restaurants in the Middle East have obtained halal certification and do serve halal beef patties and chicken.

Q. Does Shake Shack have pork?

A. Shake Shack serve Pork except in the Middle East and in Turkey.

Q. Is shake shack halal in the USA?

A. No, Shake Shack is not halal certified in the USA.

Q. Is shake shack halal in the UK?

A. Only chicken is halal in the UK, beef remains non-halal.

Q. Is shake shack chicken halal?

A. Shake Shack chicken is not halal in most countries, except the Middle East. But You can enjoy Dave’s Chicken.

Q: Is Shake Shack cheeseburger beef or pork?

A. The burger is made with 100% Angus beef and topped with cheese, lettuce, tomato, and Shack Sauce on a toasted potato bun.

Q. Is shake shack halal in Singapore?

A. No, Shake Shack Singapore is not halal certified.

Q. Is everything in Shake Shack halal?

A. No, most menu items at Shake Shack are not certified halal.

Q. Is Shake Shack halal or haram?

A. Shake Shack is mostly haram globally, except in the Middle East where it’s halal.